Rataj Michal

  • Rataj
Year of Birth :
More info:


1993 - 1999: graduated from the Faculty of Arts at the Charles University, dep. of musicology (1999)

1995: scholarship at the Royal Holloway University of London, UK
1998: scholarship at the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin and at the Hochschule für Musik Hans Eisler
1998 - 2003: composition studies at the Academy of Music, Prague (prof. Ivan Kurz)
since 2000: music editor and radioart producer, Czech Radio, Prague (www.rozhlas.cz/radiocustica)
2002: scholarship at the Universität der Künste, Berlin (prof. Franz Martin Olbrisch)
2003 - 2006: PhD. studies, thesis on Electroacoustic music and selected concepts of radioart
spring 2004: Artist-in-Residence, MuseumsQuartier Wien (Austrian goverment support)
since 2005: assistant professor, department of composition, Academy of Performing Arts, Prague
2007 - 2008: Fulbright Scholar, Center For New Music And Audio Technologies, UC Berkeley, California

member of the EBU Ars Acustica
member of the SHOCK group
lectures on the history of contemporary music, electroacoustic music and technology and (New York University, Prague, Seniors´ university, Prague)
reviews, articles on the contemporary music and interpretation (daily press, Harmonie, HIS Voice, UNI ao.)
recordings with following labels: EMI, Radioservis, HisVoice
performances at various european festivals (V:NM Graz, AudioArt Kraków, NextWave Prague, Multiplace Bratislava)
"stage" music for radio, theatre and TV productions
sound graphic of the Czech Radio 3 - Vltava (2002)