Lídl Václav

  • Lídl
Year of Birth - Death :
1922 - 2004 †
More info:


Vaclav Lidl studied composition with Jaroslav Kvapil at the Brno Conservatory (graduated in 1948). After graduation he worked shortly in a factory manufacturing music instruments, and since 1951 has devoted himself to composition full-time. At first he composed mainly film music, gradually shifting his attention also to concert music which prevailed in his compositional output since the mid-1960s. In many of his works Lidl tried to express his strictly humanitarian attitude, but he also drew his inspiration from nature's beauties as well as from the positive characteristics of human relationships. Lidl's compositional style was formed within the post-romantic Czech music tradition of the first half of the 20th century (as it was represented by Dvorak's pupils V. Novak and J. Suk). In the 1960s the composer enriched his style with some procedures and methods of the "New Music", such as aleatory music and modal organization of the sound material. This was mainly evident in the then frequently played 3rd String Quartet and in the cantata Hic homo sum written under the impression of the composer's visit to the Auschwitz concentration camp, as well as in the orchestral version of the Suita Rustica. The vocal symphony Little Drummer-Boy with the subtitle Nursery Rhymes for Adults was written under the impression of news about starving children in many parts of the world. His 2nd symphony for small orchestra and the dramatic 3rd symphony for large orchestra were often performed both in Czech Republic and abroad (mainly in the former Soviet Union's countries). This also applies to the very impressive symphonic picture Ballad of a June Morning (Lidice 1942), which was written to the memory of annihilation of Czech village Lidice by Germans. Vaclav Lidl was succesful with his music for non-professional and student's orchestras (a.o. Serenade for string orchestra, Summer Camp). He wrote also music for a very favourite TV evening fairytale series, whose piano version were published under the title "With the Rumcajs' family in Raholec Forest" by music publisher Supraphon. In the eighties, his works for choirs were awarded (e.g. Discussion for children choir, Bridge) in several competitions.